Is Gluten Free Pizza Keto?

If you’re on the keto diet, you know you can’t eat carbs. And you also know that gluten free products are made without wheat, which is one of the most common carbohydrates. Does that mean gluten free products, like gluten free pizza, are keto friendly?

It turns out there is no single answer to this, because there are many different kinds of gluten free products. Recipes for gluten free pizzas may include several different kind of non-wheat flours, including:

  • Almond flour
  • Rice flour
  • Potato starch
  • Tapioca starch

Some of these ingredients are keto friendly, while others are not. In this article, we will tell you how to find out if your gluten free pizza is keto.

Not all gluten free pizza is keto.

There are many ways to make a gluten free pizza. Some recipes will call for keto friendly ingredients like almond flour. Others will call for keto unfriendly ingredients like potato starch.

In general, starches are not keto friendly. They may not contain gluten, but they do contain enough carbohydrates to ruin your ketosis.

Many alternative flours, on the other hand, are keto friendly. These include:

  • Almond flour
  • Coconut flour
  • Chia flour
  • Flaxseed meal
  • Lupin flour

If your gluten free pizza is made exclusively of these kinds of flours, then you should be good to go. On the other hand, if it contains even a little bit of potato starch or rice flour, you should stay away.

Many popular gluten free pizza brands are not keto friendly at all. For example, Udi’s contains 62 grams of carbs, and Rudi’s contains 64 grams of carbs.

How to find out if your gluten-free pizza is keto?

Depending on the situation, you might be able to find out if your gluten free pizza is keto.

If you have a pre-made dough, either frozen or refrigerated, then check the ingredients. So long as all of the ingredients are keto friendly, then it is safe for you to eat.

If you are at a restaurant, however, you will need to ask about the ingredients. Tell your server or cashier that you are on a strict keto diet and cannot have any carbs. They should be able to tell you the ingredients.

If you cannot find out what’s in the pizza, or if you are unsure, then it’s better to not eat it. That way, you can avoid breaking ketosis.

All keto pizza is gluten free

Not all gluten free pizza is keto, but a strict keto pizza is gluten free. That’s because keto foods contain zero carbs, and so can’t contain any wheat to begin with.

Technically, people on a keto diet can enjoy a small amount of carbohydrates per day. That’s why some keto desserts will advertise themselves as containing 4 or 5 grams of carbs. However, these carbs usually come from non-wheat sources like xylitol or almond flour.

Keto pizza crusts, like KBosh’s cauliflower pizza crust, are made from sturdy vegetables like cauliflower. This means that they contain no wheat and no gluten. If you are thinking about having a keto-friendly, gluten free pizza, then your best bet is to use a pizza crust like ours!